Since the first Open Call in mid-2021 commenced the initial phase of the Lower Saxony – Scotland Tandem Fellowship Programme, the initiative has proven to be an excellent opportunity for early-career academics to conduct research in a cross-national exchange at the most recognised universities in Lower Saxony and Scotland. 

The second Open Call was published in February 2022 and extended the programme for a further round of applications. Today, ECAS is pleased to present the list of new joint project proposals as well as the corresponding researchers who have recently been awarded a fellowship (the following sequence of tandems was determined at random):

GREAT SCOT-D Simulating subsurface conditions for green energy technologies in Lower Saxony and Scotland using the unique GREAT Cells of Edinburgh University and Georg-August Universität Göttingen.
Dr Marco Fazio (Georg-August-University Göttingen) and Dr Michael Chandler (University of Edinburgh).

“Migrant Care Workers (MCWs) in UK, Germany & Italy: a comparative analysis of quantitative data & public policies on migration.”
Dr Andrea Teti (University Vechta) and Dr Francesca Scrinzi (University of Glasgow).

“Random periodic orbits and periodic measures in interacting particle systems.”
Dr Benedikt Jahnel (TU Braunschweig) and Dr Yue WU (University of Strathclyde).

Financial Globalization and Capital Flows in an Unbalanced World.”
Dr Ning Zhang (University of Glasgow) and Dr Qu Zhan (Georg-August-University Göttingen).

“Quantum Energy and Accelerated Mirrors.”
Dr Salvatore Butera (University of Glasgow) and Dr Yafet Erasmo Sanchez Sanchez (Leibniz University Hannover). 

The European Centre for Advanced Studies (ECAS) would like to congratulate, on behalf of the whole team and the Members of the Selection Committee, the aforementioned tandems for introducing excellent projects and receiving acceptance into the Lower Saxony – Scotland Tandem Fellowship Programme.

The Lower Saxony – Scotland Tandem Fellowship Programme is organised by the European Centre for Advanced Studies (ECAS) and funded by the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK).